Veterans, Gold Star Parents & Exempt Firefighters
Firefighter Certificate of Exemption
Firefighter Exempt Certificates are filed in the County Clerk’s Office to show evidence of a firefighter’s eligibility to receive benefits under N.J.S.A. 40A:14-56.U.S. Military Honorable Discharge (DD214)The County Clerk’s Office records and maintains U.S. Military Honorable Discharge documents (DD214) for veterans. Protect your right to receive veterans benefits by ensuring the security and future access of your military discharge record.
The purpose of recording the Veteran’s Honorable Discharge (DD214) is to secure the record of the honorable discharge of the soldier, sailor, marine, or nurse who has served in the the United States Army, Navy, Marines, Air Corp, or Coast Guard for future access for benefits of the veteran or survivor.
Access to the recorded Veteran’s Honorable Discharge is limited by law to only the veteran, his/her mother, father, spouse, brother, sister, child, heir, or personal representative (N.J.S.A. 38:25-6).
- Original record of service or notice of separation showing the record of service with signature of proper government agency of the Federal Government
- The veteran must be a resident domiciled in Cumberland County
- The County Clerk will record and return the original document.
There is no charge to record the Veteran’s Honorable Discharge or to obtain a certified copy.
The County Clerk’s Office issues Vendor Licenses to honorably discharged soldiers, sailors, marines, nurses or army field clerks as well as exempt firefighters.
The license gives the holder the right to hawk, peddle and vend merchandise within the State of New Jersey. License holders must comply with any local ordinances. License is effective only in New Jersey.
- Applicant must be a veteran or hold a Firefighter Certificate of Exemption
- Applicant must prove Cumberland County residency and domicile
- Be a resident of New Jersey for at least 6 months and Cumberland County for 3 months
- Exempt firefighters must present proof of Certificate of Exemption
- Veterans must supply U.S. Military Honorable Discharge Document DD214
N.J.S.A. 45:24-9 & c
Veterans are advised to show businesses and service providers their Cumberland County Veteran’s Photo ID Card and to ask if discounts are offered to veterans.
Veteran’s Photo ID Cards
The Cumberland County Clerk’s Office provides Veteran’s Photo ID Cards to veterans who record their U.S. Military Honorable Discharge document. The Veteran’s Photo Identification card may be used to obtain discounts offered by participating merchants/vendors.
Gold Star Parent Photo ID Card
The Cumberland County Clerk’s Office provides Gold Star Parent ID Cards to honor the parent(s) of military service men and women who’ve made the ultimate sacrifice on active duty in service to the United States. Like the Veteran’s Photo ID Card, the Gold Star Parent ID Card may be used to obtain discounts or other courtesies extended to veterans.
Gold Star Parent Photo ID Cards are available from the Cumberland County Clerk’s Office to the parent, legal guardian or legal custodian of member of the armed forces who lost his or her life while on active duty for the United States. This card may be presented to participating merchants/vendors for discounts offered to veterans and Gold Star Parents. There is no charge for the Gold Star Parent ID Card.
To be eligible for the Cumberland County Clerk Gold Star Parent ID Card the applicant must apply in person at the County Clerk’s Office and:
- Be the parent, legal guardian or legal custodian of a member of the armed services who lost his or her life on active duty in service to the United States
- Be a resident of Cumberland County
- a certification from an organization formed for the support of parents of members of the armed forces who lost their lives while on active duty for the United Statesand/or the service member’s Federal DD Form 1300
- and/or Report of Casualty, which identifies the member of the armed forces who died while on active duty for the United States
If you have any questions regarding these services, please call the Cumberland County Clerk’s Office at (856) 453-4860 or 856-300-7466.